Change is in the Air

A letter to my students at Samdhana-Karana Yoga

“Change has long been a fearful thing for human beings … and at the same time, it is our most Divine opportunity. Clinging to the banks of the river may seem safe and more secure, but life’s possibilities are truly engaged only when we trust, release and become part of The Flow of the Universe.” – Chelle Thompson

As winter winds down, and spring returns we are reminded of the endless cycle of change. With each season, the natural world around us transforms. The same basic materials – earth, water, fire, and air – take on seemingly endless new forms and shapes, allowing everything to feel new once again. The wisdom of the words of the 19th century philosopher Arthur Schopenhauer becomes obvious: “Change alone is eternal, perpetual, immortal”.

Never has this theme of change that occurs each Spring been more apparent in my life. Not only are my husband and I preparing to change our family dynamic with the birth of our first child, but we’ve also just found out that we’ll be moving our family to Asia! My husband’s job is taking us to Seoul, Korea for the next 3-5 years.

My initial reaction to this news was a combination of shock, excitement, pride in my husband and his achievements, and sadness. My thoughts were, “No! I can’t leave the studio!”, “My dreams!”, “My students!”, “My house!”, “My Pamela!”. Despite years of study and practice, non-attachment and change are still a challenge, and I expect them to be for years to come. No matter how much we know that the inherent nature of all things is that they change and transform, it is so hard not to cling to the comforts of familiarity.

Now that the news has settled in, we are getting very excited for our adventure. This is a great opportunity for my husband and for our family. This excitment is still mingled with sadness, which is unavoidable when faced with the reality of having to say goodbye-for-now to all of you. I had a yoga teacher back in NYC who used to say each week, “I love you guys, whether you believe or not”. I used to secretly roll my eyes and think: “Yeah, whatever, lady”. Now I have to laugh at myself because as a yoga teacher I know exactly what she meant. You do come to love your students very much. To be a facilitator and an observer to your individual growth as a yoga practitioner is one of the greatest honors of my life.

The sadness in leaving is also mixed with deep gratitude.  I am so grateful for the time I’ve had here establishing Samdhana-Karana Yoga. Though it was a long-held dream, I never knew if it would become a reality. Together with Pamela, to have created this space and witness it grow into what it is continuing to become is truly remarkable. I am so excited to see where the next few years will lead.

My last day at the studio will be Thursday, March 31st. I will teach my 9:15am Gentle Yoga class that day. On April 3rd at 4pm, we’ll have an Open House at the studio so I can visit with and say proper goodbyes-for-now to all of you. If you have time, I’d love to see you there. If you don’t make it, it’s okay because I’ll be back for visits and plan on teaching a class or two when I am here. I’ll also be staying in touch with the studio through this blog that will be linked to our website.

More than anything, I want to express to each and every one of you a heartfelt “Thank You”. There are no words to describe the joy, the lessons, the challenges, and the satisfaction that the studio has brought to me. Your support through attendance at classes and donations has made something truly incredible happen – we are fulfilling our mission of making Yoga accessible and available to all.

May you be happy, may you be safe, may you be at peace, may you be healed, and may you be a source of healing in this world.

 

With deep gratitude and affection,

 

Vania

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. Miss you more than I thought I would. Don’t like the new schedule, bla, bla, bla! Looking forward to your next post, pictures, and a swift return!
    Love Susan

Leave a Reply

