Happy Lunar New Year!

The snake the littlest yogi and I made to celebrate Seolnal.

The snake the littlest yogi and I made to celebrate Seolnal.

Happy New Year, yogis! I am very excited to be here in Korea for the lunar new year. Last lunar new year I was in the US, so I missed this most important of all Korean holidays. I was sure I was missing a great deal of fanfare, but truth be told, I’ve never seen Seoul this empty or quiet. It’s almost unnerving.

Korean New Year is called Seolnal and is generally celebrated for three days. It is a family holiday and most people travel to their homes and participate in a ritual to honor their ancestors. They also honor their living elders, wishing them blessings in the New Year, and children are given money for good luck. The traditional food consumed is dduk guk, a rice cake soup,  and various types of hangwa, or traditional sweets.

We are now in the year of the snake, which I learned recently is meant for steady progress and attention to detail. Sounds like a great year to be a yogi.

Wishing you all many blessings, good luck, and lots of steady progress and attention!

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

